Location: Ballyquinn, Limavady
Services We Provided
Ireland has a number of Obelisks and this one stands as a testimony to Henry Barre Beresford in whose honour it was erected in 1840. By 2011 the Obelisk was in very poor condition and had been added to the BARNI register. The Follies Trust was asked if it would help and shortly after the Practice became involved.
A preliminary inspection determined the main threats to the fabric and set out a cost plan which allowed the Trust to determine a strategy for conservation. By 2014 the Trust were sufficiently confident to commission a high level inspection and this produced a stone by stone schedule. Every design step should reduce the amount of unknowns and therefore reduce the financial and programming risks for the client.
The conservation philosophy adopted was to repair in an effective and honest manner, doing no more than prudence demanded and avoiding tampering with sound fabric.
Detailed drawings and comprehensive specifications allowed contractors to accurately price the repairs and work began in the Spring of 2015. Traditional repair techniques were employed to rebuild sections and grout and repoint others.
On the afternoon of 19th of May 2015 we gathered with the Trust and its Friends to celebrate the launch of a publication which marked the completion of the conservation of the Beresford Obelisk. The work was finished on time and on budget.
The Practice has a long standing relationship with the Follies Trust and has worked on a number of Follies including, the Knockbreda Mausolea, Tullish Linen Watch Towers, Tyrella Sham Fort and Tollymore Forest Park Bridges, Obelisk and Hermitage.